THE BMT TEAM ATHLETES

Austin Ross

Austin Ross

Gender

Male


Nickname

Austy


Ski

BMT 122 or Shiro


Discipline

Backcountry


Top results

No comps for this guy


Date of birth

Summer Solstice 88'


Nationality

Canadian


Home

Pemberton/Whistler- British Columbia


Hobbies

Creating and collecting music.


Motto

#learntocrow


Info

www.austinross.ca // @austinross88

My name is Austin Ross and I am a professional skier and mountain sport athlete from the BC Coast Mountain Range. I began skiing around the same time that I learned to walk and have since spent time all over the world chasing storms and working on photo and film assignments for my sponsors, magazine publications and movie production companies.
Besides skiing, I like to explore the realm of the natural world through free flight on my paragliders and speed wings.

What is your favorite ski?

BMT 122


Why do you like this ski?

Progressive design, ultra light, stable and responsive.


What conditions do you use this ski for?

Everything! This is the quiver killer. One ski to rule them all.


What other skis in the collection do you ride?

BMT 109


Can you tell us a little about each pair of skis, and about what sort of conditions you use them for?

I ski the BMT 122 most days but if it hasn't snowed in a bit I'll use the BMT 109


What about bindings? What bindings do you use? And where do you mount them?

King Pin


What DIN do you have your bindings on?

12 or 13


RANDOM FACTS:

Home mountain: Mt. Currie & Whistler/Blackcomb Resort
Height: 6 ft
Favorite skier: Whoever I'm sharing the moment with in the mountains.
Ski heros growing up: Mom and Dad
Ideal day in the mountains: Steep and deep
How would you describe your style: 1 part freeride, 1 part freestyle, 1 part ski mountaineer. I'm not confined to one genre... I draw inspiration from all aspects of skiing and mountain life.
Your biggest breakthrough in your skiing career: Probably the first time I landed a 360; that's a pretty incredible feeling.
Favorite place to ride: Top secret
Best snow trip: Hmmm a few come to mind... Chamonix, La Grave, Japan, China, Revelstoke, Baker, Kootenays, Selkirks
What age did you start to ski: I had a ski pass to Whistler/Blackcomb the year I was born and I've had one ever since.
What cant you live without: Music
Favorite phone App: Google Earth!
Goals and plans: To continue exploring the natural world on my skis and delve deeper into the depths of my own personal adventure in life.

Share